HAZARD LIBRARY ANNUAL MEETING April 9, 2014 Minutes

Meeting was called to order at 7:10 p.m. at the Friends Meeting House in Poplar Ridge. Present were Library Director Lisa Semenza, Board President Ken Knight, Treasurer Jay Ardai, Secretary Rachel Karn, Kris Minster, Denise Littlejohn, Amy Emerson, Dan Thayer, new member Kathy Button, and Kathy Bailey. New member Ron Buxenbaum was excused.

President Ken Knight announced in his welcoming remarks that he and Jay would be leaving the Board, having each completed two terms of office. He gave special thanks to the many loyal volunteers who keep the library running throughout the year.

Rachel Karn presented minutes from the 2013 Annual Meeting. A motion to accept (by Kathy Bailey) was seconded (by Amy Emerson), then approved by a vote of all in favor.

Copies of the 2013 Annual Report were distributed to all in attendance, after which Lisa shared a more detailed account of a very busy year.

Lisa took over the position of Library Director in July, following the retirement of Sally Otis. In September the Library lost our computer service for a long six weeks. In spite of this extra challenge, Lisa kept things running while also making changes to collection display, hours of operation, Story Hour scheduling and format, and whatever else landed on her desk.

Jay then presented the final budget report for 2013. Highlights included receipt of two \$10,000 grants from State Senator Michael Nozzolio (one each for 2012 and 2013), and approval by voters in our school district of a \$6,000 increase in annual library support funds. The Library's Annual Appeal and Book Sale both did very well this year.

In Ken's final report as President he recalled the many challenges and accomplishments of his six years as a board member. Hiring a new Director, successfully pursuing sources of funding, and physical improvements to the building and grounds are all a source of pride. The ongoing struggles with basement flooding and internet access we continue to address.

Following Ken's report, new board members Kathy Button and Ron Buxenbaum were officially installed. Rachel Karn will take over as President, and Kathy Bailey will assume the duties of Secretary.

A motion to adjourn (by Kris Minster) was seconded (by Amy Emerson), then approved by a vote of all in favor.

Meeting adjourned at 8:10 p.m.